Posted on

Our First Anniversary

 
One year ago today, Jefe and I made the trek out to the Central Valley to meet our girl and bring her home. I was so very nervous: Could I care for this little being? I wish I could say that I am now thoroughly convinced of my abilities, and truly, I mostly am. But I still have my moments, like today during our walk when I caught myself thinking we should be working on training new commands more often, and were her daily walks with Rachel enough, and should I be worried about environmental toxins more than I already am… It’s a black hole, a revolving door, questions without answers.
 
Just like that very special day, one year ago, when I first spotted her, being carried out of a pen of puppies, her little ears floppy, her eyes bright and searching, today I looked into my little girl’s face, and was distracted from my worries. I was, and am, absorbed in her earthly perfection, her present-focus, her lips and eyes and spotted head. Whatever I’ve done, it is enough, and whatever I am required to do in the future, well, that will be enough, too. As long as I am still arrested by the mere sight of her, from that time in the morning when I wake up and find her pressed up against me, to the time I rest my head against the pillow we share (we really do), then how could I not be moved to do what is right by her? What room is there for anxiety and doubt when we are both right here, and right here is magical?
 
I am so thankful for all the people who help me give Ace the best of everything every day. I am so thankful I can put my fears aside and have her next to me no matter the challenges and heartache that will invariable find us. I have not always been so brave.

3 responses to “Our First Anniversary

  1. Jefe

    Awwwwwww. Happy one magnificent year of Ace!

  2. Mary Beth ⋅

    What you so wonderfully expressed comes across as pure love. It’s all you need. Ace is lucky to have you and you are blessed having Ace. Live in the moment just like Ace does!

  3. ๐Ÿ™‚ Thanks, Mary Beth, for reading and for your kind thoughts. ๐Ÿ™‚

Comments

