Posted on

One Leg, Two Leg, Red Leg, Blue Leg

We met with the surgeon this morning. Apparently Ace has the same condition in her left leg as in her right. I expressed my desire to do both legs at the same time, and I’m so happy to report that we will be able to do just that. This will allow us to avoid another surgery in the future if all goes well. Ace will have the surgery on Thursday afternoon, and she will be held all day Friday for observation.
 
While I think the sudden news that one’s dog needs major surgery would be upsetting to any loving dog owner, I think I’m particularly upset about Ace’s knee problems because I have knee problems. I experienced a sudden and unexpected injury when I was 21, and had to have surgery soon after. I still have pain and I often worry about my future. My knee injury has been one of the worst losses I have experienced. I can’t help but project fears of my own limitations when I think (read: worry) about Ace’s future. This is something I really have to mull over if I am going to be able to take care of Ace.
 
You should see the list of care instructions — it’s really frightening. For the first ten days post-surgery, she will not be able to walk, and I will have to hold her up with a sling while she tries to urinate. Apparently I don’t have to worry about poop for a while: “Morphine-type drugs can sometimes cause constipation for 3 to 4 days so it is common for patients not to have a bowel movement for this length of time.” Awesome.
 
My mind is spinning, pinging back and forth between planning for her care and reflecting on my own horror and grief. The depths of my worry are endless. I am terrified.
 
And now, a cute picture of Ace:
 

Ah, that feels better! I needed that.

Comments

