Posted on

Flipper the Lemon

I realized I hadn’t written a post in awhile about Ace getting injured, so we paid a visit to the vet today. Actually, I never wrote about Ace’s penultimate injury because we were doing final prep for Burning Man when Ace tore her self a new asshole. Yes, that’s right — the Tuesday before we left for Burning Man, the day were were supposed to bring all of our belongings to a friend’s house so that we could pack the truck the next day, we got a very calm text from Miss Rachel stating that Ace had a minor injury to her anus. The first thing I thought when I saw the blood and the piece of her butt hanging by a thread was: “How the hell am I going to keep that from getting infected?” Off to the emergency vet we went for some antibiotics. The best part was that Ace never seemed to notice that she had a tear in her asshole. We didn’t even have to break out our Cone of Shame.

What is wrong with this picture? 
So it’s been a few weeks without an incident, which for Ace is a long time. Earlier this week, she tore her paw pad while playing with the Zipdogs. I tried to keep it clean and dry, but the wound included several flaps of paw pad skin that I couldn’t clean underneath. I finally broke down this morning and took her to the vet, where they found some sand in there (ouch) when they cleaned the wound.

BOO! 
I really appreciate the incredible sense of humor of the vet or vet tech who bandaged her paw. You can’t really see it in this picture, but the orange tape has the word “BOO!” meticulously cut from vet tape and emblazoned across the side. I have so many questions: How many colors do they have back there? Who gets to decide what color is used? Can patients make a special request?

Chillin with Flipper 
Leaving the vet, we were accosted by our usual swarm of Ace-lovers, which always increases in number when we are at the vet because such a place attracts animal lovers. Today, her fans were more numerous and enthusiastic than ever, because nothing is cuter than an adorable animal with a deformity. I have taken to calling her Flipper because of how she walks with the bandage on. Also, we were given some kind of IV bag to tie over her bandage when she is outside to keep it dry, so she looks even more like a part-dog, part-sea creature deranged mutant when she walks while wearing the bag.

Ain't no lemon 
No Fort Funston this week, little guy. I’m going to keep trying to save you from yourself, but yes, I am going to make fun of your flipper leg. Even though a receptionist referred to you as a “lemon” for always being broken and busted up, you’re MY lemon, and you’re pretty damn sweet.

4 responses to “Flipper the Lemon

  1. Mary Beth ⋅

    3rd photo down…oh my she loves this orange thingy on her foot! I am laughing as I commiserate. Those paw pad tears are nasty. But the anus? How the heck?? Possibly I can’t handle the description! That area would have warranted a brown bandage. 😉 Heal quickly Ace!

    • Thanks for your well-wishes! I’m hoping everything heals without incident. Yes, the anus wound was awful to look at, yet she acted like nothing was amiss. I wished we could have bandaged it just to save our eyes. Would you believe her anus is visibly scarred? Crazy dog.

  2. Mary Beth ⋅

    Ace is a silly lil girl. I am constantly surprised that Buddy’s beautifully cropped tail covers his anus perfectly. First Boston I’ve had to achieve that distinction. Ha! My goal is to one day have a Boston with a real tail! I still giggle at your eye of sauron (sp?) comment. 🙂

    • Buddy, I’m a little bit jealous! I have actually seen a BT with a full tail. It was thin and black with a white tip, really incredible and oddly it looked perfectly normal! Ace’s “tail” is about one inch long and affixed to the right side of her anus. Although her tail is strange I think it’s one of the nice BT tails I have seen. Strange breed!

Comments

